Fall 2011 Vendor Feature: LOVELY LUXE JEWELS

Lovely Luxe Jewels
shop | website

I first got turned onto jewelry design in 1985 watching my mother make a bead and thread necklace with a homemade loom she made. We made an amazing piece together! Beadwork and jewelry have been a very serious addiction ever since. I have been pretty lucky I think in that I have had pieces featured in several books and magazines and had a piece make the cover of Belle Armoire! I call it luck because I see SO many amazing artists out there and think it is just luck that plays a hand in getting published.

I have a love of adornment…for ourselves as women but also I love just about anything embellished! I definitely inherited a love of all things artistic from my mom. She was an art teacher and is still very active in her art.

I enjoy creating everything from simple minimalist designs to huge bright and bold pieces and also love intricate chainmail work. I am just recently interested in learning basketweaving techniques I can use in my designs.

Get To Know Cary of Lovely Luxe Jewels

What’s the #1 played song on your iPod?  I think I am the last holdout…I don’t own an ipod. I do however play my iTunes group thru my computer while I am working. My fav to listen to right now is old Cure and I am in love with anything Rob Thomas does.

What is one of your favorite quotes, song lyrics or Bible verses?  “Reality can be overcome with enough imagination” -My mom.

If you could learn to do anything, what would it be?  ANYTHING?  Ha? I would want to learn how to turn back time and be 20 again? There are several parts of my life I would like a “do over” on!

What are you most looking forward to about this fall’s Homespun Chic Marketplace?  Meeting other Central FL artists!  I want to be more active in our community.

What’s your favorite Central Florida Food Truck?  The Taco Bus.

What’s your favorite Central Florida attraction/landmark/sight? Park Ave. (shopping and great people watching), any nice garden (love Harry P. Leu and Selbey in Sarasota!).

What’s something you’ve done that you think no other vendor has done? Been in a movie! (a movie with actor Richard Thomas from the Waltons) about the death of James Dean.  It was filmed in my home town of Conway AR and my grandparents were friends of the producer. My sister and I played girls that were in a homecoming parade that was filmed…you can actually see us in the movie! We also got to meet Richard Thomas and his wife. They were very sweet. I remember they had two tiny fluffy dogs with them at the time.  It’s a fun memory.

_________________________

Visit Lovely Luxe Jewels and see what you have to look forward to at the Fall Homespun Chic Marketplace on Sunday, October 9.

_________________________

Love what you see? Click the links next to “Share This” below and let your friends on Facebook and Twitter know. Then, come enter to win a $25 Gift Certificate to be used at the Marketplace.

Leave a Reply

