Fall 2011 Vendor Feature: LIFE’S CANDY

Life’s Candy
shopfacebook

Life’s Candy is a true labor of love and adventure undertaken by us, Christopher and Mae Winter. We live in the Central Florida area and while we may serve Corporate America by day, we live the dream on nights and weekends designing new fabric accessories to brighten the homes of our friends and customers. It’s extremely helpful that our two year old daughter is obsessed with napkins and demands them for every meal or snack! She keeps us very focused. Mae recently “retired” from her day job to spend more time with our toddler and sew even more fun items!

Get To Know Mae of Life’s Candy

What are you most looking forward to about this fall’s Homespun Chic Marketplace? Meeting customers and getting feedback on my products! This is my first show, so that’s probably the biggest thing I’m looking forward to. Selling online is great but you miss an essential part of the buying cycle; when customers DON’T buy you don’t get to see why. You never see what they picked up and liked but eventually put back because the price wasn’t right or they wished it was just a little bigger/smaller/brighter/fancier/simpler/whatever. Shedding some light on the reactions people have to my work is very exciting for me. Also terrifying.

If you had to only work on one project for the next year, what would it be? I’ve got a barely-started double wedding ring quilt and a best friend who just got engaged. If I could only work on one thing it would have to be that. I love to quilt but I’ve only ever done baby quilts, so this is a big project for me and is sure to teach me tons!

What’s the #1 played song on your iPod? It’s probably Cosmic Love by Florence + The Machine. The intensity of the song really speaks to me. I love light and happy music as much as the next girl but I really appreciate a song that takes me somewhere.

What is one of your favorite quotes, song lyrics or Bible verses? There’s a song by Matt Nathanson called To The Beat Of Our Noisy Hearts with the line: “She skates where the ice thins” and I love it. It reminds me that taking chances can be a good thing and reminds you that you’re alive.

_________________________

Visit Life’s Candy and see what you have to look forward to at the Fall Homespun Chic Marketplace on Sunday, October 9.

_________________________

Love what you see? Click the links next to “Share This” below and let your friends on Facebook and Twitter know. Then, come enter to win a $25 Gift Certificate to be used at the Marketplace.

Leave a Reply

